Breaking Out the Brushes Again…and a Heritage Goldmine on eBay

Howdy y’all. I’m back from a restful summer to begin my fifth year teaching in Singapore. Hard to believe my kids have been expats for most of their lives…

Anyway, I’ve not updated this here blog as much as I’ve meant to, so one of my goals this year is to keep it fresh.

So this summer saw some key eBay wins for me. First, I cannot recommend highly enough Lazlo Jakusovsky’s How To Paint A Better Miniature DVDs. I’ve not even finished the first disc and I’m learning a bunch of tricks that have gotten me excited about painting again. Second, I got a big box of Reaper’s Masters Series Paints, after watching my suitcase full of Vallejo paints turn into gloppy chunks of solidified pigment over the last two years. It was worth the money.

And last, I got a killer eBay auction of 40+ serious antique minis, mostly from Heritage’s Dungeon Dwellers line. I got all four elementals, a beholder, an otyugh, lizard men, bugbears, hobgoblins, ogres, and best of all, four hellborn warriors that I’ve never seen before. I remember reading about them in the rules to Swordbearer when I was a kid, and could only imagine what the minis would look like. Turns out they’re the typical “primitive” style of Heritage’s 80s sculpts, but I’m jazzed, because I’ve been thinking for years about applying some skilled paint jobs to these ancient minis.

I’ll be posting lots of pics in the upcoming days.

Leave a Reply

