The Grenadier Beholder Project

So I remember studying the many images of that beloved original D&D monster, the beholder, from the first edition Monster Manual, various modules, and especially this one from the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons Coloring Album (lovingly described by Blizack on Dungeonskull Mountain a few years back):

I also remember never being able to quite figure out what color the damn things were.  I somehow got it in my head that they were covered in olive green (the description uses the word “chitinous,” I think) plates with bright purple flesh between.

Then I got my obligatory box of Grenadier Solid Gold Line minis–the Dwellers Below–and there was the goofiest damn beholder anyone’s ever seen.

It’s Letter H.

So my mission, now that I have 30 years of painting under my belt, is to make this damn thing look like I always thought it should.  No cutting or filing, just with paint.  Here are some pics of the work in progress.

Some Reaper Master Series Olive Green and Pale Violet Red. That’s what I’m talking about.

Eyestalks blocked in, along with some shadow on those chitinous plates.

More updates as events warrant.  I’m totally excited about this one…

Leave a Reply

